Inspire!

sofiia manousha: life and balance

the rising french star sat down with me over bowls

of potatoe – cheddar carrot soup, and it basically took

everything in me not to lick the bowl

she shared her thoughts on life and what gets her up in the morning

177784_18

tell me about your name, where does it come from

manousha means little cat in berber. my roots are moroccan but, i feel like i’m from everywhere.

what motivates you to get up in the morning

my dream and my soul. if i don’t act i feel like i’m going to do die. the art makes me feel alive.

i have two passions: yoga and acting, but yoga makes no sense without acting. God gave me an amazing gift, and being pre-nominated for the cesar is amazing (the cesar’s are the equivalent to the oscar’s).  i’m a person with a lot of perseverance.  i’m a dreamer and i believe in my dream.

*live your dream, don’t dream your life

how do you spend your day

i wake up at 9, and i take a walk with my dog. i eat breakfast, then practice yoga with you, castings, press, doing shoots, i always take time for me and practice yoga.

how do you spend your night

i try to go to bed early, bed before midnite. although i don’t respect that all the time, i do love sleeping.

what does yoga mean to you

oxygen, life, breathing, passion, love, balance.

what is your favorite asana

bow and arrow (dhanura asana), because it means strength, balance and concentration. everything in one position.

what are you most afraid of

i can be scared, but at these moments i push through.  my job is a big fear, but i try not to think about that. i accept the roles, because i don’t have rules. the scariest thing is the death of people i love and dying before realizing my dreams.

what book have you read this year that made you feel alive

a book by justine levy “rien de grave” which translates to “it’s not important.”  it’s about carla bruni sleeping with the son of her husband. she had a child with the son. she had a big depression and realized in the process that nothing is important, except death.

what exhibit did you recently see that you loved

with my sister, we saw claude nori’s photos of alice springs, the wife of helmut newton. the photography was amazing

favorite tune

night in white satin by the moody blues

you study yoga how has this helped you become a better actress

it’s essential for my balance, my breath, and soul.

how do you like to spend your quiet time away from your art

watching films, sleeping, taking time with my doggie, having time with my sister, we love to play music. my family is everything.

what films have you recently seen that inspired you

not a new movie, but “precious” was amazing.

i also saw a great movie last week “argo”.

are you planning to travel soon

yes, i want to go to morcco to breathe. this upcoming year i plan to go to brazil, then i might plan to take a road trip with you to arizona. lol

what is the one thing about religion and the road of enlightenment that you have learned

love, open your heart, never have fear to love… i cannot live without love. what scares me is to find it, then later discover i never had it.

what does freedom really mean to you

“carpe diem,” live life as it comes.

if you could do anything other than act what would you do

live close to the sea, with lots of sun, animals, organic food and yoga. i would love to be a life coach, to help people heal and find happiness

describe yourself in three words

passionate, intense, and optimistic

do you have anything you would like to share? a poeme you wrote, a photo you’ve taken, or just that epic something that connects us all

i would love to share this quote in french…

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai compris qu’en toutes circonstances,
j’étais à la bonne place, au bon moment.
Et alors, j’ai pu me relaxer.
Aujourd’hui je sais que cela s’appelle… l’Estime de soi.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai pu percevoir que mon anxiété et ma souffrance émotionnelle
n’étaient rien d’autre qu’un signal
lorsque je vais à l’encontre de mes convictions.
Aujourd’hui je sais que cela s’appelle… l’Authenticité.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
J’ai cessé de vouloir une vie différente
et j’ai commencé à voir que tout ce qui m’arrive
contribue à ma croissance personnelle.
Aujourd’hui, je sais que cela s’appelle… la Maturité.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai commencé à percevoir l’abus
dans le fait de forcer une situation ou une personne,
dans le seul but d’obtenir ce que je veux,
sachant très bien que ni la personne ni moi-même
ne sommes prêts et que ce n’est pas le moment…
Aujourd’hui, je sais que cela s’appelle… le Respect.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai commencé à me libérer de tout ce qui n’était pas salutaire,
personnes, situations, tout ce qui baissait mon énergie.
Au début, ma raison appelait cela de l’égoïsme.
Aujourd’hui, je sais que cela s’appelle… l’Amour propre.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai cessé d’avoir peur du temps libre
et j’ai arrêté de faire de grands plans,
j’ai abandonné les méga-projets du futur.
Aujourd’hui, je fais ce qui est correct, ce que j’aime
quand cela me plait et à mon rythme.
Aujourd’hui, je sais que cela s’appelle… la Simplicité.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai cessé de chercher à avoir toujours raison,
et je me suis rendu compte de toutes les fois où je me suis trompé.
Aujourd’hui, j’ai découvert … l’Humilité.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai cessé de revivre le passé et de me préoccuper de l’avenir.
Aujourd’hui, je vis au présent, là où toute la vie se passe.
Aujourd’hui, je vis une seule journée à la fois.
Et cela s’appelle… la Plénitude.

Le jour où je me suis aimé pour de vrai,
j’ai compris que ma tête pouvait me tromper et me décevoir.
Mais si je la mets au service de mon cœur,
elle devient une alliée très précieuse !
Tout ceci, c’est… le Savoir vivre.

KIM ET ALISON MAC MILLEN

“ Nous ne devons pas avoir peur de nous confronter…


…Du chaos naissent les étoiles. ”

Charlie Chaplin.

Interview by Weléla Mar Kindred

Leave a Reply

